Our Mission

Indiana Teachers of Writing promotes collaborative inquiry into writing instruction, the work of writing students, and the classrooms that nurture writers. Click here to read a brief history of our organization.

Our Board


Ryan Batsie
Executive Director

Ryan Batsie, Three-Year Term (2020), Zionsville West Middle School

Ryan Batsie has been a language arts teacher since 2003 and currently teaches  at Zionsville West Middle School.  He has also been a part-time education professor at Indiana University since 2016 and is currently working on his Ph.D. in Literacy, Culture & Language Education with IU.  He loves sharing current classroom experiences with future teachers to inspire the next generation of educators. As an avid reader and passionate writer, he cares deeply about literacy instruction in the state of Indiana and beyond. ITW has helped welcome him into a community of Hoosier educators who truly care about students.  He will be on the board for a three-year term as the Executive Director of ITW.

Joe Horvath

Joe Horvath, Three-Year Term (2020), Southport High School

Joe Horvath is a Master Teacher at Southport High School and Adjunct Faculty at the University of Indianapolis.  He has received degrees from Butler University and the University of Indianapolis. He will be on the board for a three-year term.

April Adams
Vice-President of Professional Development

April Adams, Three-Year Term (2020), Thomas Gregg Neighborhood School

April Adams is a graduate of Butler University with a degree in elementary education and certifications in reading and English as a new language. After receiving her education April began her teaching career in Lawrence Township. April has taught third grade, worked as an interventionist with grade fourth through sixth, and is currently at Thomas Gregg Neighborhood School. She will be on the board for a three-year term.

Steve Fox

Steve Fox, Three-Year Term (2021), IUPUI

Steve Fox is Professor of English and Director of Writing at IUPUI.  He also directs the Hoosier Writing Project, a site of the National Writing Project, which offers professional development for teachers of writing at all levels.  Fox has been involved with ITW as board member and presenter since 1992. He will be on the board for a three-year term.

Erin Lehman
Vice-President of Finances

Erin Lehman, December Term (2018), Ivy Tech

Erin Lehman teaches English composition, introduction to poetry, developmental writing, and general studies capstone. Teacher Consultant with the Hoosier Writing Project, recipient of the President’s Award for Excellence in Instruction, and Master Teacher. Trained Court Appointed Special Advocate (CASA) serving Johnson County, Indiana. She will be on the board for a three-year term.

Carrie Gaffney
Vice-President of Communications

Carrie Gaffney, Three-Year Term (2021), Indianapolis School for Inquiry

Carrie Gaffney has spent the bulk of her career as a middle school teacher and International Baccalaureate Middle Years Coordinator. In addition, she has worked as writer and editor for multiple creative and educational publications, including as managing editor of The Educational Forum, a publication of Kappa Delta Pi.  She serves on numerous boards, including Second Story Indy, a non-profit devoted to bringing creativity into classrooms, as well as the Teacher Advisory Board for Teaching Tolerance Magazine, where she is also a contributor, and serves as facilitator of the Advanced Institute of the Hoosier Writing Project.

Amy Peddie
English as a New Language Representative

Amy Peddie, Three-Year Term (2020), Perry Township School

Amy Peddie has served Perry Township School for almost twenty years where I have taught English as a New Language, French, and Computer Applications, at both elementary and secondary levels.  She leads the Department of  English Learners and teaches intermediate English as a New Language classes. She is a member of INTESOL, was named Southport High School Teacher of the Year, and received the Chin National Day Teacher of the Year and the Human Relations Banquet Ambassadors Award in 2012. She will be on the board for a three-year term.

Temeka Lomax
Secondary Representative

Temeka Lomax, Two-Year Term (2019), Pike High School

Temeka Lomax, a TC since attending the Summer Institute at IUPUI in 2000, has represented the goals and philosophy of the National Writing Project both as a classroom teacher and as a district-level trainer.  Accomplishments such as securing an Urban Sites grant from the NWP to address equity in teaching and learning and organizing two mini Summer Institutes for the teachers at Pike High School, exemplify her unwavering support of educators through ITW.  She will continue on the board for two more years.